BHAGS – Big Hairy Audacious Goals

A great concept I thought I’d share…

Starting this business has inspired me to read everything I can get my hands on to help me make Pilloroo a successful company.  Built to Last by James C. Collins and Jerry I. Porras is a book that was recommended to me and is filled with a lot of great ideas.   By researching highly successful companies, the authors have pinpointed many successful characteristics these businesses have shared.  One is the BHAG.  A true BHAG is a goal that is so easy to understand that it needs no explanation, should fall well outside the companies’ comfort zone, and it should be so bold and exciting that it stimulates the company’s progress.

Here are some impressive BHAGS from history:

“…before this decade is out, of landing a man on the moon and returning him safely to earth.”

John F. Kennedy

“to build a motor car… so low in price that no man making a good salary will be unable to afford one.”

Henry Ford

“to make a pocketable radio”

Sony

Talk about audacious goals!  Thankfully these companies succeeded – I can’t run at the Gym without my Ipod!  And I can’t drive myself to the gym without my car.  (I know I should run to the gym, but who has the time?<:)

This book has inspired us to put together some great BHAGS.  They have added to the excitment of running our business.  What a great book!

Leave a Reply

